South Dakota

South Dakota Game, Fish, and Parks Commission

The South Dakota Game, Fish, and Parks Commission consists of eight members, appointed by the Governor for four year terms. No more than four from the same political party. Not less than four shall be farmers actually residing on a farm, engaged in agriculture, deriving at least two-thirds of their gross annual incomes from crop or livestock production or both, and interested in wildlife conservation. Not less than three commissioners shall reside west of the Missouri River and not less than five shall reside east of the Missouri River. The commission No person shall serve on said commission for more than eight years, except that where his first appointment is for two years he may be reappointed thereafter for an additional two four-year terms.

The commission retains quasi-judicial, quasi-legislative, advisory, non-administrative and special budgetary functions. Changes in administrative rules must be approved by the Commission.

As of mid-2021, 3 members are consumptive users and 6 seats are occupied by men.

South Dakota Game, Fish, and Parks

Funding Sources

†† Minor Other (no source ≥10%): Miscellaneous and County ADC Funding