Mississippi Commission on Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks

The Mississippi Commission on Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks is composed of five persons appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate, for a term of five years. One Commissioner is appointed from each of the five (5) Congressional Districts as they existed prior to 2000. The Commission shall adopt, amend, and repeal such regulations, ordinances, and rules as may be necessary for the operation of the department and discharge such other duties, responsibilities, and powers as are prescribed by statute.

All 5 commissioners must be active sportsmen holding a hunting or fishing license in at least 5 of the 10 years preceding appointment. As of mid-2021, all 5 seats are occupied by men.


Mississippi Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks


Funding Sources