Kansas Wildlife, Parks and Tourism Commission

The Kansas Wildlife, Parks and Tourism Commission operates in an oversight capacity. The Department of Wildlife and Parks is administered by the Secretary of Wildlife and Parks and is advised by a seven-member Wildlife and Parks Commission. All positions are appointed by the Governor with the Commissioners serving staggered four-year terms. Serving as a regulatory body for the Department, the Commission is a non-partisan board, made up of no more than four members of any one political party, advising the Secretary on planning and policy issues regarding administration of the Department. Regulations approved by the Commission are administrated by the Secretary. The driving force behind the Commission’s actions are the goals and objectives of managing and promoting the wildlife and natural resources of our state.

As of mid-2021, 6 seats are occupied by men and all 7 members are consumptive users.


Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks