The Commission:

  • Name: Iowa Natural Resource Commission
  • Regulatory or advisory: Regulatory
  • Number of voting members: 7
  • Term length: 6 years
  • How selected: Appointed by Governor
  • Senate confirmation required: Yes
  • Selection criteria per statute: 

The members shall be citizens of the state who have a substantial knowledge of the subjects embraced by chapter 456A (Regulation and Funding – Natural Resources Department). The appointments shall be based upon the training, experience, and capacity of the appointees, and not based upon political considerations.”

“The Commission works with the Conservation and Recreation Division of the Department of Natural Resources. This division includes Engineering, Fisheries, Forestry, Land and Waters, Law Enforcement, State Parks, and Wildlife.”

The Agency:

  • Name: Conservation and Recreation Division
  • Type: Subagency within Department of Natural Resources
  • Title of Agency Director: Division Administrator
  • Selection process: Selected by the Director of the Department of Natural Resources
  • Mission statement from DNR website

“To conserve and enhance our natural resources in cooperation with individuals and organizations to improve the quality of life in Iowa and ensure a legacy for future generations.”

Revenue for Iowa Department of Natural Resources, Wildlife Bureau:

Source: Monica Thelen, Land Management Coordinator, Wildlife Bureau, Iowa DNR. 2021.

Find Your State

America’s Wildlife Values was an extensive 2018 nationwide survey led by Colorado State University of public attitudes towards wildlife. Findings were compared with a 2004 survey to identify trends. Researchers also surveyed personnel at state wildlife agencies. Reports are available for national, state and agency results. (Some state agencies did not participate.)

State Report

Agency Culture Memo

National Report