Georgia Board of Natural Resources

The Georgia Board of Natural Resources operates in an oversight capacity. The Board consists of 19 citizens appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Georgia Senate. The Board is responsible for setting rules and regulations ranging from air and water quality to hunting seasons and provides input into issues such as the agency’s budget recommendations and legislative initiatives. Board members serve 7 year terms.  

Commission Information at a Glance

Number of seats on the Board: 19

Selection criteria required by statute:

  • Geographic: The Board of Natural Resources shall consist of one member from each congressional district in this state; one additional member from one of the following named counties: Chatham, Bryan, Liberty, McIntosh, Glynn, or Camden; and four members from the state at large.

As of mid-2021, 9 members are consumptive users and 17 seats are occupied by men.

Commission Website

Georgia Department of Natural Resources Natural Resources Division